Baltic countries

Baltic Countries

The Baltic countries (also known as Baltic States) is northeastern region of Europe containing the countries of Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia on the eastern shores of Baltic Sea. Baltic countries have its name for being bounded on the west and north by the Baltic Sea. Baltic countries usually are referred to the territories east of Baltic Sea which gained independence from the Russian Empire in the wake of World War I. 
Definition of the Baltic Countries
The republics of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania, which became constituent republics of the former Soviet Union in 1940, regained their independence in 1991.
Latvia is a democratic, parliamentary republic located in Baltic region neighboring with Russia with population of 2.1 million.  Latvia became independent in 1918, and was occupied by the Soviet Union and Nazi Germany during the second world war and again by the Soviet Union after the second world war until it regained it's independence in 1991. Today Latvia is a member of both the European Union and  North Atlantic Treaty Organization( NATO). Latvia is ranked as world's second greenest country and the Latvian capital Riga is the biggest city in the Baltic countries.
Estonia is a democratic parliamentary republic divided into 15 counties which has over 1,500 islands.  Estonian capital and largest city is Tallinn. With a population of 1.29 million, it is one of the least-populous members of the European Union, Eurozone and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization. Geographically, Estonia is on the north-eastern edge of the European Union, bordering Russia and Latvia. Almost half of Estonia teritory in covered by forests.
Lithuania is a Parliamentary democracy on the eastern coast of the Baltic Sea and it is the largest in Baltic countries. Lithuania has population about 3.2 million people and it is the southernmost of the three Baltic countries.  The capital of Lithuania is Vilnius. Lithuania was the first Soviet republic to declare independence from the USSR. Today Lithuania is a member of NATO, the Council of Europe, and the European Union. 
Baltic Sea
The Baltic Sea is a brackish inland sea, perhaps the largest body of brackish water in the world. As it is inland sea, the waterflow between Baltic Sea and the North Sea is small, so the countries around the Baltic Sea are reducing the pollution and trying to make cleaner Baltic Sea.